Miserably failed cross axle obstacle (need off road help)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

beantmt

Full Access Member
Reaction score
So, I took my new 06 LR3 (SE V8) off-road today for the first time today. I was driving on a dry dirt with a small amount of gravel in places. I came across a fairly simple looking cross axle obstacle on an ascent (not too steep at all, maybe 25-degree). I drove right up to the obstacle in (D)rive in 4-hi at on-road height with no problems at all, right before the obstacle I put the LR3 in 4-low and off-road height and proceeded very slowly. On the first bump I lost traction and just sat there spinning. I never tried gunning it. I tried the grass-gravel-snow terrain response setting with the same result. While trying to climb, the DSC indicator flashed the the vehicle kinda convulsed a bit. I am new to off-roading (as you probably guessed at this point) and quite paranoid with the new car, so I didn't want to force the issue, so I turned around. A few minutes later an old Toyota pickup came down them just fine. I am quite sure my problem was user error, I am just wondering if anyone had any tips, I'm gonna go back tomorrow. I should probably get myself an instructional book or video!

beantmt

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Oops! I forgot to link this... The obstacle looked basically just like this one, except for the one I encountered was on an incline and the dirt was more dry and sandy.

YouTube - Colt cross axle

morrisdl

Full Access Member
Reaction score