Offroad First Impressions....

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jzk

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Took the LR3 to the trails for the first time yesterday:

http://www.pbase.com/jzk/land_rover_lake_geneva_march_05&page=all

I am a novice at best. I have done some offroading in Colorado with my old Durango.

The LR3 takes some learning. I found myself in the wrong mode wondering what was happening a few times.

The conditions were snow, ice, and after a while, mud. There was a land rover guy there. He advised to start out trying the snow mode. This, ended up not being the best because it made it difficult to get up the hills. A Porsche cayenne guy had the same problem with his traction control. It seems that the snow mode and his traction control will endeavor to prevent wheel spin. But climbing these hills requires some wheel spin. What happened was I was almost up, and the LR3 would take away my throttle because all the wheels were spinning.

The Cayenne couldn't get up this hill 4 times in a row. Then he turned off the traction control and he was right up it.

The land rover guy told me to try normal mode, and that was better. I should have tried the mud/rut mode, but I didn't.

The biggest disappointment was my stock tires. Not that I am complaining, but they are really out of their element in that setting. Of course, Land Rover must sell tires that are suitable for everyone. My first upgrade is going to be a set of steel wheels with some real mud tires. Also, I don't need to mess up my 19" wheels either.

The hill decent control was AWESOME! That is a must have, if you ask me. There was this one place that took me three tries to climb. It was bumps and snow and ice. Before changing to normal mode, I couldn't make it up as the power just went away at the top.