97 Discovery Burning too Rich on engine braking?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

X

x0054

Hay there, this is my first post. I am used to working on Porsche, so this is my first time really digging in to Land Rover. I hope you guys can help me out.

Here is the problem. My 1997 Land Rover Discovery head its cats replaced twice in the past 3 years ( before it became mine ). Now it looks like it needs new cats again. They heat up to the point ware they start to burn carpet inside the car! This usually happens wile going down hill for a long time. I got a scan tool and tested the car with it. No fault codes were found but wile testing the O2 sensors I noticed that wile the car is driving everything is normal, but as soon as the car starts to engine brake ( like then going down hill ) the O2 sensor jumps to the rich side (.99v) and stays there till you give it some gas or shift to nutrual. It is normal at idle and normal during acceleration. However after 3500rpm the computer switches to open-loop mode and the O2 sensor gose rich again.

Any ideas on what could be doing this?

Thank you,

- Bogdan

D

discomike

You might want to look at your ECU for the problem. Past that I don't have an idea, wish I could be of more help[.
Mike J.

Sergei

Full Access Member
Reaction score
ECU is good place to check out.

How are yer spark plugs looks like? And what petrol you putting in?

X

x0054

I looked at the plugs today, only got around to looking at 3, and they were good (kind of ashy gray). I'll take a look at the rest of them tomorrow.

I am using the 91 gas (USA), that's the best I can get in California.