CB Radio

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bushway9172

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Anyone have any recommendations for a good quality CB radio? What's the best place to mount an antenna on the LR4? Just starting to look into this... I may end up just buying a handheld.

I'm new to CB radios, so any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

PALR4

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I haven't purchased a cb in a long time, but I have always had good luck with the Cobra brand (still have and use mine from ~15 years ago). Unless things have changed, you won't have much luck with a handheld inside a vehicle. At best, you will have miserable range. For the antenna, I use a small dia. magnetic mount and a short rubberized mast screwed into the base. I just run this out the tailgate as needed. makes it easy to remove for garages etc...

The Cobra I have has all the controls on the microphone, so I can hide the main unit under the seat... Works very well.

Finlayforprez

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I am also considering a CB radio (I am the only one in my LR group that does not have one), so this is perfect timing for this thread.

HikeNbike

Reaction score
i just got the Cobra 75... mounted the small junction box under the seat (fitted with a quick connect). I have an aftermarket rear bumper and tire carrier so i mounted the antenna to the tire carrier mount.(Quick connect and with a 4' fire stick)
If you do not have a steel front or rear bumper then i really suggest just going with a magnetic temp antenna.. take it off when its not in use

NASdiesel

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Just get the cobra 75 and a wire whip antenna. I've used the same for years and works great for convoy and line of sight communication.

Kaaae

Full Access Member
Reaction score