1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Current info on installing back up camera?

Discussion in 'LR3' started by djatkinson, Oct 31, 2020.

Car Parts
  1. Houm_WA

    Houm_WA Full Access Member

    Posts:
    3,797
    Likes Received:
    207
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    ...that's a bummer.
     
  2. bbyer

    bbyer Full Access Member

    Posts:
    830
    Likes Received:
    128
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    Alberta
    I am not so certain that you are beat re the Off Road display.

    I understand that you had to disconnect the fibre optic cable when the new "radio" head went in. I also think the brains of the optic system are in the Head unit but jumping the open fibre optic pair is worth a try.

    Per the link below, one can get a "jumper" (looping tool) the joins the open ended part of the orange optical cable. The jumper allows the red light to keep going in circles assuming there is red light to circulate. I guess if the red light died when you disconnected the head unit you are beat but if the cable remains alive, there is a chance the nav unit might still display something other than the default logo.

    Alternatively, if you still had the head unit and could power it up plus found a place to stuff it so to speak so it remains but is hidden in the system .....

    https://www.disco3.co.uk/gallery/displayimage.php?album=34462&pos=14

    Link to a number of files in the Nav / Radio album including wiring diagrams.

    https://www.disco3.co.uk/gallery/thumbnails.php?album=34462
     
    maxx4wd likes this.
  3. maxx4wd

    maxx4wd Full Access Member

    Posts:
    98
    Likes Received:
    34
    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Thanks for that info...it's certainly worth a shot and see what can / can't be displayed by looping that line...some use may be better than nothing...I do still have the head unit but I'm not sure where I could hide it but at a minimum I'm definately going to try to loop that optical cable.
     
  4. bbyer

    bbyer Full Access Member

    Posts:
    830
    Likes Received:
    128
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    Alberta
    If there is still red light coming out of the disconnected cable ends, or at least one of the cable ends, then there is hope.

    I think probably the head unit generates the red light as that is also probably where the brains of the fibre optic system resides. Yes, there is no practical empty place to hide the head unit somewhere inside the dash area; also you would still have to power it but that would not be too big a problem I would think.

    The head unit would probably hide in the console area but you might need an fibre optic extension cord then.
     
  5. remember5

    remember5 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    253
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    I looped the fiber optic cable with a 2" piece of a bic pen and some electrical tape. I don't have factory nav though but everything else functions as it did before I took out the factory amp and radio. I did a write up, you can search for it and it may help.
     
    bbyer likes this.
  6. bbyer

    bbyer Full Access Member

    Posts:
    830
    Likes Received:
    128
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    Alberta
    I am surprised, amazed really, that even if you had a proper loop, that it would work. That BIC pen internals can substitute for fibre optics is even more impressive.

    As to your write up, am I to assume that it is a thread on this forum somewhere?

    If so, I suppose I could find it and post the link here but it would be easier for me if you did it.

    Regardless, I just did not think that could work - well done.
     
  7. bbyer

    bbyer Full Access Member

    Posts:
    830
    Likes Received:
    128
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    Alberta
  8. remember5

    remember5 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    253
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Yes, that is my thread. I'm not sure the color of the light circulating but I have full functionality of all components. I removed the factory amp and looped there and removed the factory radio and looped there. Again I didn't have factory navigation so if there was functionality there I had nothing to lose.
     
  9. bbyer

    bbyer Full Access Member

    Posts:
    830
    Likes Received:
    128
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    Alberta
    Attached are a LR pdf explaining the Nav system and the other is a pdf explaining the Audio system.

    From what I can gather, the head unit generates the red light for the MOST system. In my LR3, the MOST connects to the Nav, the Amplifier and the Bluetooth. In fact that is why I got to extending my MOST system. I removed the dealer installed LR analogue Bluetooth and installed the factory optical Bluetooth.

    This effectively was the addition of the Bluetooth module and a MOST extension cable to connect the optical Bluetooth module to the existing MOST system. There was also some analogue wiring for power to the MOST Bluetooth and a wire to the Mute function on the radio head unit.

    I guess what I am getting at is that if there never was a Nav display and the Head unit and the Amp are removed, then it is unlikely there was any light in the MOST cabling as there was nothing to power it and nothing connected to the MOST cables.

    Connecting the extension cable optical conductors to the existing was the reason I noticed the red light coming out of the optical conductor. I was surprised it was so visible and red.

    I thought it might not be in the visible spectrum plus lasers are always red in the movies so I did not expect that to be for real - but then the system was designed circa 2005. I might add that I did not look directly into the "pipe" as I think that is bad for ones eyes. There is not problem seeing the red light however; it gives off quite a bit of illumination - surprisingly bright.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page