2011 LR 4 won't turn over, locked in Park, emergency brake set

Discussion in 'LR4' started by Michael Halladay, Jun 13, 2019.

  1. avslash

    avslash Full Access Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    271
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    Bad valve body it would start, but not shift, correct?

    Unless the ecm is looking for a signal from the tcm that is not there. In which case, I would expect some codes to be thrown.

    There are also factory and aftermarket valve bodies (called the mechatronic unit) available for these transmissions for roughly $2k, and there is not 2k of labor required to install them. Trans doesn't have to come out.

    Something doesn't pass the smell test here.
     
    manoftaste and gsxr like this.
  2. manoftaste

    manoftaste Full Access Member

    Posts:
    529
    Likes Received:
    111
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Damn... sorry to hear that, keep us posted please and let us know how it turns out. Is this a stealer or a non-stealer workshop? Definitely get a second or even a third opinion.

    Maybe get a quote from a stealer first to at least get the official and correct(?) diagnostics on the issue, then visit a non-dealer shop.
     
  3. scott schmerge

    scott schmerge Full Access Member

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    253
    Likes Received:
    90
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I call BS also. Should start and throw codes with a bad valve body. Not buying it.

    If it’s any help, I did just do a trans swap on mine, if that’s determined to be the issue. I can walk you through it on how to do it on a budget. Original quote to me was $5k and I did it for about $1700
     
  4. stl8grey

    stl8grey Well-Known Member

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    45
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    I am just here to learn on this one.
     
  5. scott schmerge

    scott schmerge Full Access Member

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    253
    Likes Received:
    90
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Michael,

    Do you have a gap iid tool? This really feels more electrical or computer/control module related to me. Have you had any recent other issues (related or not)?

    The fact that it drove fine before your wife started it and backed it up and the fact that it sputtered and threw those codes also points electrical. This truck is all drive by wire (if there’s an electrical issue it will do really odd things). Often when alternator goes bad resulting in low voltage, you’ll get a transmission fault code, same with a bad battery. Further, you may get a rough idle with an electrical issue since voltage controls throttle position and a ton of other engine related systems. I’m almost 100% sure this is not a bad transmission.

    Did you take it to an Indy that specializes in land rovers? Or a dealer? I would make sure to get a second opinion and it’s probably not a crazy fix. Just make sure you’ve got someone who knows what they’re looking at.
     
    stl8grey likes this.
  6. avslash

    avslash Full Access Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    271
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    Jump the starter relay?
     
    stl8grey and scott schmerge like this.
  7. Michael Halladay

    Michael Halladay Member

    Age:
    59
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    From the explanation I got, the valve body includes the electronics that inform the system what gear the LR is in. I am getting "Gearbox not in Park", which would keep it from starting.
     
  8. mpinco

    mpinco Full Access Member

    Posts:
    225
    Likes Received:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Location:
    Colorado
    $5K must be OEM/brand new. Just a quick search found remanufactured for $985. That is NOT a recommendation, just a search of what is out there.
     
  9. scott schmerge

    scott schmerge Full Access Member

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    253
    Likes Received:
    90
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Two ideas for you. Your gear selector cable could have issue or be seized. This would be mechanical.

    The other idea, it’s electrical or software related. That’s potentially your tcm. I’d try to reflash it with a gap tool or someone who has software to do so. If you need a tcm, I’ve got a perfectly fine unit that can be reflashed to your valve body. I’ll sell it to you cheap. It’s a relatively easy, albeit messy job. Nothing you need an entire new transmission for.

    Send me a pm and we can connect via phone. I’ll walk you through what needs to be done if it truly is a bad tcm (still have 99% doubt). Anyone who works on bmw transmissions can do this for you in their sleep (if you don’t want to do it yourself). TCMs rarely go bad. Usually it is the valve body, solenoids, or torque converter, of which you have no indication.
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2019
  10. jlach993

    jlach993 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    88
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Location:
    Fresh Meadows Queens NY
    Same shyt happened with my LR4, it turned out to be the gear selector cable which was really rusted under the car and prevented the transmission recognizing it was in park. I couldn't start it or even put it into neutral. It brought up many faults on the dash as well. I had to have it literally dragged onto the tow truck bed and then slid it off after getting home with some wd-40 on the tires. $40 later for the part from atlantic british with about 2 hours and a beer i was up and running again.
     
    ShadowRanger, gsxr and stl8grey like this.

Share This Page