Checking out LR3; Changes for 2006 & Questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

S

SouthPaw1227

I'm new here, but I've been checking out SUV options for 2006/2007 when I'll be getting married. I already have a car that'll be paid off in August, but I want an SUV for the wife and future family. I wanted a machine that'll perform off-road (we love to drive to PA to snow-ski and we live near the Outer Banks of NC so driving on sand and rocks is a must!) yet drive comfortably on-road for the majority of the year.

The only ones we like are:
Lexus GX-series
Hummer H3
VW Tourag
Land Rover LR3

The biggest advantages I've found in the LR are: 7-ppl seating, great on-road comfort, amazing interior/technology. I have the X-Plan as well, but I'd probably buy used as it's streching my budget.

I want the HSE for the audio system & DVD/voice system. I'm going to my local dealer tonight to check some out, but of course I won't purchase until the 2006 models are out. My main questions are this:

Do we have any clues on what 2006 model changes will be? I'm going for the V8 HSE regardless, so the stripped V6 model doesn't do me any good. Also, has the "not so advertised" fuel consumption been dealt with? Can I expect slightly better fuel economy out of the 2006 model maybe? Anyway, I hope to enjoy the stop tonight & will try to grab some pics from the lot :)

S

SouthPaw1227

^ Thanks for that link. 14/18 is fine with me, but I've heard numerous people getting ~10MPG at all times, and that is definitely not acceptable.

T

tommithy

mileage

We've had our HSE for a few weeks now and we are getting the advertised mileage. No long road trips as of yet but in mixed city/some freeway driving we get about 15 mpg. I imagine that on strictly highway driving it would go up to around 18 or so.

Tommithy

T

texas911