First Oil change

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

sparrky

Full Access Member
Reaction score
From the 2013 manual:

ENGINE OIL SPECIFICATION
Use only 5W-20 oil meeting specification WSS-M2C925-A only.
Land Rover recommends: Castrol

In an emergency, if oil of the above specification is unavailable, the engine can be topped up using a maximum of 2 U.S. pints (1 liter) of 5W-20 oil meeting specification ILSACGF-4 API SM.

So no info so far as to the other oils i can use?

schampion

Reaction score
Thanks for the tips. I have been searching quite a bit. I also did many searches on bob the oil guy. What I am really looking for is...

example!
1. 500 miles for first oil change DIY
2. AMSOIL etc 5w20 etc
3. Warrenty is safe just keep records.

I have been doing my own maintianace for the last 20 years ( Audi,Porsche,VW,LR,Volvo) Only car I havent done is my 2011 BMW as the dealer does that one.

For all of the above I was able to find info on the break in period easily and the recommendation for oil brands etc very easily. I am supprise that there is not a sticky on this.

umbertob

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I thought the Owner's Handbook was pretty clear on this.

1 - First oil change is due at 12 months or 15K miles, whichever occurs first and unless your vehicle is routinely driven in stop-and-go, dusty, extreme temperatures conditions, or pulling trailers (in which case you cut that service interval in half.)

2 - Land Rover recommends a Castrol oil currently available only at JLR dealers. However, in the manual they also say that 5W-20 oil meeting specifications WSS-M2C925-A and ILSACGF-4 may be used. A quick internet search returns Mobil 1 5W-20 as meeting or exceeding those specs, therefore you should use that one (there may be others) without voiding any warranties.