Rear Locker worth it?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MilehighLR3

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have very little wheeling experience with my LR3, so I seek advice and counsel from the forum experts.

My Jeep is locked front and rear . . . it made a huge difference in what I could and couldn't do with it.

I bought my LR3 because I was tired of the spartan interior and lack of space and frankly the lack of comfort, I've kept the Jeep for the gnarly stuff that would otherwise turn my Rover into a "rent-a-wreck" . . . . that said, I plan to use my Rover a lot and most of the trails I frequent are rated 5 or lower, I plan to do a pilgrimage to Moab (although I can't make it to the National Rally . . . .preparing for SEMA, no time).

So, is the Terrain Response T-Case sophisticated enough to negate the benefits of a rear locker?

jimbiram

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm one of the lucky few out there with a 2005 LR3 with a rear locker. There are only a few situation where it has actually stood out as helping with traction. I was in Moab with a non-locked sport, and it was apparent that in climbing situations heavily articulated, that the rear locker does give a definite advantage. But in 90% of the situations, using the traction control system properly can get you through most situations. I watched someone a week ago climbing a hill for example, and when his wheel started to spin, he immediately put on the brakes, then tried to gas, while still holding the brake. Once I got him to take his foot off the brake and give it lots of gas, the traction control finally took hold and he did fine.