Terrrain Response - Amazing

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

U

UnbrknCh8n

toddjb123 said:
... So, what setting is best for driving at highway speeds in poor conditions? Should you leave DSC on? (I would think so, but figured I'd ask).

I was just driving on the highway yesterday in icy and snowpacked conditions. I'm not an expert, but personally I would definitely leave DSC on. Also, the snow setting worked well. When passing other cars (at up to 55 mph) it was much slower to downshift, thus decreasing the chances of spinning my tires an losing traction. Of course, most of the time I was driving slowly-- slow enough to see a Grand Cherokee, a Lexus and a Trooper in the ditches on either side of the road.

It felt really good to feel safe (especially since I rolled and totalled my last SUV in an ice storm less than a year ago). Of course, the vehicle's only as safe as the driver!

God, I love this truck!

T

toddjb123

xcursion said:
On a snowy highway and at speed, I would use the snow mode and leave the DSC on. DSC, along with TR, controls your wheels from slipping and keep you car straight, but you know that already.

UnbrknCh8n said:
I was just driving on the highway yesterday in icy and snowpacked conditions. I'm not an expert, but personally I would definitely leave DSC on. Also, the snow setting worked well. When passing other cars (at up to 55 mph) it was much slower to downshift, thus decreasing the chances of spinning my tires an losing traction...

Thanks! Good to hear from owners who have actually tried it. I have a snowy morning and may get to try it out now. :)

Last edited by a moderator:
L

LR3_WA

I'm not a dumb #$@ when it comes to snow on hills. Though it was pretty embarrassing to have other cars/trucks stop on the hill and not my fancy LR3 with all it's traction settings.