Adaptive Headlight ECU Module

Discussion in 'LR4' started by avslash, Mar 28, 2019.

  1. avslash

    avslash Full Access Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    181
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    Can anyone verify where to find this on a North American left hand drive model?

    I thought it was in the passenger compartment foot area at the bottom of the A-pillar, but after looking around, I am having no luck finding it.

    20190328_180314.jpg
     
  2. Pfunk951

    Pfunk951 Full Access Member

    Age:
    44
    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    128
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Location:
    KCMO
    Yo,

    Here's what I could dig up.. I have a feeling they left it on the left hand side if the car for NA versions- see the pics attached from the FSM.. As you know, in the UK(and the manual) the passenger side is on the left. I just pulled the upper vent out of my passenger side (right side) and it isn't back there.. I tugged on my driver's side vent and I think there are screws holding it in..

    Mike


    Capture1.JPG

    Capture2.JPG

    Edit: Sorry for the eye chart, I can send bigger images if needed..
     
    avslash likes this.
  3. avslash

    avslash Full Access Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    181
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    Thanks @Pfunk951

    I dug into that side, as well, this morning. No luck though. The ECU for air suspension is in there, but no joy on the headlight ECU.

    This is basically a science project I embarked on. I had to replace my original non-afs headlights years ago. The best price I could find at the time was on afs units so I bought those. There was some discussion on another board that changing the Non-AFS ECU for an AFS-ECU and then enabling the afs feature via the IID Tool would enable the afs feature to work. I came across a low cost used ECU last week, so I thought I would make an attempt at finding the answer either way in the name of Rover science.

    I'm starting to think there is not a separate ECU for non-afs headlights. Maybe they are just powered directly from another control module.

    If anyone can confirm or refute whether vehicles without AFS from the factory have a separate ECU or not, I would appreciate it.

    As an aside, if anyone needs to replace their headlights, I can confirm that AFS units will function in an originally non-AFS vehicle. The only oddity I encountered is with the DRL LED's. IIRC, on my original headlights they illuminated whenever the ignition was powered on. On the AFS units in a non-AFS truck, they only power on when the headlights are in operation. Not a big deal to me, and they have functioned fine for several years at this point.
     
  4. avslash

    avslash Full Access Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    181
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    I tugged on my driver's side vent and I think there are screws holding it in.


    Just an FYI, in case you ever need to remove the driver's side. It pops out just like the passenger side does. You can remove the headlight switch unit separately, as well.

    There are four metal trim clips along the bottom edge of the dash trim piece. I find it easiest to remove the headlight switch unit first by prying it out, and then using that hole to grip and pull at a downward angle to release the dash trim piece.
     
  5. ryanjl

    ryanjl Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    471
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Location:
    KCMO
    On 2013s and older, the LEDs only come one when the headlights are on.
     
  6. mklinker

    mklinker Full Access Member

    Age:
    27
    Posts:
    65
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Location:
    boston, ma
    I think this mounts behind the fuse box behind the glove box... or at least thats what the workshop manual seems to allude. Is that where you looked?
     
  7. avslash

    avslash Full Access Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    181
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    I poked around and stuck my hand up there without any luck.

    Not swearing it's not there, but I have up after an hour.

    To answer your question from the other thread, I replaced my non-Afs xenon housings with afs xenon housings and they work fine. Without the afs function, though.

    If I can ever find that module, maybe the afs will be a different story.
     
  8. mklinker

    mklinker Full Access Member

    Age:
    27
    Posts:
    65
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Location:
    boston, ma
    I wonder if they didn’t populate that connector? Seems like it would just be blanked off or something. I’ll see if I can find it in the wiring diagram
     

Share This Page