2012 LR4 HSE Speaker Upgrade

Discussion in 'LR4' started by JangoSW, Jan 6, 2020.

  1. JangoSW

    JangoSW Well-Known Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Location:
    Chicago
    I called the LR Auto Parts area to get the correct amplifier that would work for my car. They said the amp is in the passenger side quarter panel? Can anyone verify?
    Thanks!
     
  2. jlach993

    jlach993 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    47
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Location:
    Fresh Meadows Queens NY
    it's under the passenger front seat.
     
  3. Jimmy Brooks

    Jimmy Brooks Full Access Member

    Age:
    19
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2019
    Location:
    Pasadena California
    Depends mine is under the passenger seat but I have the old 480w system so yours could be in the quarter panel. I’d check under the passenger seat and if not it’s probably in the quarter panel.
     
  4. JangoSW

    JangoSW Well-Known Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yes, it is under there for me. The LR rep was wrong.
     
  5. f1racer328

    f1racer328 Full Access Member

    Age:
    25
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Location:
    AZ
    Let me know if you decide to go through with this. I want to upgrade my HSE as well (2013)
     
  6. Tapps33

    Tapps33 Active Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Location:
    Bath, Maine
    Hey Guys, I'm a little late to the party, but I've been doing a lot of research on this subject. FYI, I too have a 2010 LR4.

    I never realized the amp was different in the 12-13' models, but it makes sense. In theory, the infotainment system shouldn't realize there's any real difference in power output as all it's doing is sending low level optical data to the amp....which then just pushes the speakers. The big question is whether the 2010 speakers can handle the extra power?


    I also found this link which might be of some help for those looking to upgrade the sub or other speakers in their LR4's:
    https://www.landroverworld.org/threads/lr4-logic7-sound-upgrade.29931/

    Basically, it looks like Mobridge may sell a fiber optic receiver that can intercept and decode the LR signal for an aftermarket amp. The JL sub looks cool too, but it sounds like they discontinued it pretty quickly. Other than that, dynamat and an aftermarket sub and it should help a little! Also, I do know that several companies make speaker level converters is the Mobridge route doesn't play out. That way, you can just intercept the signal post-amp and send it to another amp and speakers. It's just a thought.

    Rather than going through the full Logic 7 upgrade (for those who didn't get one to begin with), if there is a way to utilize the stock head unit via something like a Mobridge decoder or a speaker level converter, I feel like it'll be cheaper, and possibly cost less in the long run.

    Just my $.02.

    Fyi, I'm totally going to try the 825W upgrade with my 2010 LR4....I'll let you know how it goes!
     
  7. JangoSW

    JangoSW Well-Known Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Location:
    Chicago

    Looking forward to hearing how it goes.

    I have an audio guy who told me to get a 2012 Lux amplifier and we could re-pin the harness. The connectors are exactly the same as my 2012 HSE. I just ordered a pulled amp from Michigan, so once I get it I'll bring that and the wiring schematics to them and hopefully they can pin in the rear pillar speakers, center speaker, and two front door mids. That's the plan.
     
  8. Tapps33

    Tapps33 Active Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Location:
    Bath, Maine
    Thankfully, I don’t think my swap will be quite as intense as I’ve already got the Logic 7 system....but as I’ve found with these things, there’s almost ALWAYS a gotcha you have to overcome! Lol


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  9. Jimmy Brooks

    Jimmy Brooks Full Access Member

    Age:
    19
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2019
    Location:
    Pasadena California
    Ok one thing that’s always confused me is the fact that the Logic7 System is the fact that from 10 to-11 they had a 14 speakers, but from 12-13 they had 17 speakers instead of 14. Where did they add the extra 3 speakers after the 14 speaker Logic7 system.
     
  10. Tapps33

    Tapps33 Active Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Location:
    Bath, Maine
    As far as I can tell, the Logic7 systems only ever had 14 speakers. I'm not sure where the 17 speaker configuration came from....a RR or RRS perhaps? I've attached a screenshot from the 2010 and 2013 LR4 service manual which shows the same speaker config's across the years. Screen Shot 2020-01-22 at 12.58.31 PM.png Screen Shot 2020-01-22 at 1.06.16 PM.png
     

Share This Page