5.0 supercharged into an LR4?

Tapps33

Full Access Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Posts
144
Reaction score
95
Location
Bath, Maine
Sorry for the late reply guys.
I did a lot of research prior to install.
The only thing I changed was the engine and PCM along with the aux radiator. I added the wiring for the supercharger pump and the boost pressure sensor that goes behind the supercharger. When you look at the wiring diagrams from the SC V8 and NA V8 there's not alot of difference.
I'm still running the NA transmission and it has adapted to the SC V8 Motor.
The PCM is plug and play once you have all your wiring figured out you just need to immobilize the SC V8 PCM to the LR4.
I've been working with Land Rover for 10 years now so it helps to have access to the workshop manual and diagnostic machines as you learn tricks on how to bypass certain security measures.
Overall was a good build and I love it. I want to get a 2016 LR4 and do a SVR tune conversion one day.
Thanks guys
Hope it helps
@SCV8LR4 Out of curiosity, who did you get to flash your ECU? Because @Hermes and I have called everyone we can find trying to get it done and no one will do it for us? I looked into the KESS and KTAG, but because we have the Denso computers there's just not a lot out there for them.

PLEASE show us the way!!!!!!
 

SCV8LR4

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Posts
5
Reaction score
12
Location
florida
@Tapps33
I used the SDD tool which is the approved JLR tool to perform my immobilization. It's a little tricky but it works eventually.
Where are you located? If you not far I may be able to help you out.
 

Tapps33

Full Access Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Posts
144
Reaction score
95
Location
Bath, Maine
@SCV8LR4 I have a feeling I'm WAAAAAAYYYYY away from you up here in Maine....but maybe I'll get lucky?

I've toyed with a SDD tool, but the price tag is just too large for me. Unless you know of a cheaper SDD tool solution?
 

Tapps33

Full Access Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Posts
144
Reaction score
95
Location
Bath, Maine
Well, it's official, I found an SDD tool for $1300. While it pains me from the bottom of my wallet to shell out that kinda money, I think it'll be worth it in the long run.

BUT! I have to ask, @SCV8LR4, will you be able to provide a little tech support when/if I run into issues recoding the VIN and Immobilization key on the SC ECU? Which also beckons the next question, can I plug the SC ECU in and code it to my LR while the NA engine is still present? (I'm waiting for ARP bolts/studs to arrive for my engine build, so anything I can do to speed the transplant process up once the engine is ready, I want to do!!)
 

Tapps33

Full Access Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Posts
144
Reaction score
95
Location
Bath, Maine
Ok guys, here's the newest problem I've run into...and I'm worried it's going to hold everything up.

The main bolts in this engine, as I understand it, are TTY stretch bolts....aka they're a one and done style bolt. Not a problem....typically. Unfortunately, it appears as though JLR doesn't sell these....or even list them for that matter as I haven't been able to find them.

Does anyone have any ideas, sources etc...? Is anyone (@SCV8LR4) a LR tech and knows whether these are truly one and done or are reusable?

If I can't find anything that'll work, this could be a show stopper for the engine....the last thing I want is to put everything together and blow the engine because a stupid main bolt lets go! even as far in debt as I am with this project, I know if I cut corners it's going to be the death of the engine.

FYI, I've been going back and forth with ARP, and they have basically told me they don't offer anything aside from a M11 head stud they found. I can't get any rod bolts or main studs that'll work. Even though I found some that'll fit, aka kit 201-4302, according to ARP, there's not enough thread engagement for aluminum blocks. (Insert GIANT facepalm here!!!). I have found some better con rod bolts from these guys: https://www.island-4x4.co.uk/conrod-bolt-aftermarket-p-40051.html
but I'm hesitant to pull the trigger as I don't know them. Plus I was hoping to get everything from ARP.

Thoughts, comments, odes of wisdom???????
 

greiswig

Full Access Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2021
Posts
280
Reaction score
90
Location
Oregon
Bummer! I was hoping ARP might have something for you. Step one is right where you are: finding out if they're really TTY bolts or not, and if re-use is advisable at all. If confirmed, and if it were me, I'd be talking to ARP and maybe a metallurgist/machinist to find out how feasible it might be to have some studs machined if you can't find a good source for OE.
 

gsxr

Full Access Member
Joined
May 8, 2017
Posts
637
Reaction score
272
Location
Idaho
Stretch bolts are not always a single-use item. Some Mercedes engines with stretch bolts have a length specification, and if the old bolts are not stretched beyond spec, they can be re-used. Sample below from the FSM.

I don't know if the JLR bolts are similar, but it's a decent possibility. In the MB world, it takes Godzilla-level gorilla effort to actually stretch these things. They are almost always re-usable.

You must be registered for see images attach


You must be registered for see images attach
 

Tapps33

Full Access Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Posts
144
Reaction score
95
Location
Bath, Maine
Hmmm.....Lemme dig through the service manual and see if it says anything! Thanks for the input!

As for the ARP custom machine, I may think about it, I just feel like it's going to be cost prohibitive....and I'm already WAY freaking over budget. It doesn't help that I picked up an SC transmission mechatronic, sent it off to be virginized...and then the guys vanished off eBay and I can't find him....there's $1200 I'm probably never getting back.

I tell you what, sometimes I think I never should have started this project....but, I'm kinda too far into it to back out now!
 

Tapps33

Full Access Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Posts
144
Reaction score
95
Location
Bath, Maine
Well, the manual has pretty much nothing about the main bolts. All it tells me is that it's a cast iron main cap that is cross bolted for rigidity.

It doesn't even list the torque specs for the mains.

Seriously, this is ridiculous....there has to be something out there....that's why ARP would be so easy....they come with their own torque specs!
 

gsxr

Full Access Member
Joined
May 8, 2017
Posts
637
Reaction score
272
Location
Idaho
Have you checked both the Land Rover factory manual, and also the Jaguar factory manuals? I only have the LR4 manual, I don't know if the Jag version is any better.
 

Latest posts

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
34,778
Posts
202,502
Members
28,422
Latest member
ladevezep
Top